About


Introduction

Download

The Graduate Institute of Drama and Theatre was founded on August 1, 1995. Our course design conjoins Chinese and Western dramatic theories, focusing on the aspects of theatrical history, texts, theories, and aesthetics with the aim of cultivating future researchers and professors. M.A. candidates can opt for their research topic according to personal interest. The successful candidates will be awarded an M.A. (Master of Arts) degree.

In 1999, the Department of Drama and Theatre was formed, awarding B.A. (Bachelor of Arts) degrees. Each academic year, we recruit an approximate 35 to 40 students (with levelled out gender) to nurture future researchers, playwrights, theatrical artists, high school teachers, and specialist in cultural industry for Taiwan.

Based on the approval of the Ministry of Education on the Department’s pedagogical performance and academic contributions, the Department established the doctoral program on August 1, 2014, awarding successful candidates with a Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy). The program aims to conduct academic theatre studies and cross-disciplinary research, and discover various angles for applied theory in hopes of constructing a panoramic vision in theatrical studies. The course design of the undergraduate program conjoins theory and practice, aesthetics and technique, tradition and modernity, and Chinese and Western theories to provide well-rounded theatrical education on a solid cultural basis. Our aim is to provide students with the opportunities to become familiar with various theatrical aspects such as history, theory, playwriting, acting, directing, design, and technique. Students are able to pursue advanced studies according to their inclinations and competence. Furthermore, all students are encouraged to make the best use of the abundant academic resources available at the university. Aside from the inter-collegiate cooperation agreements that NTU has signed with National Taiwan Normal University, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology and National Taipei University of Education, our students can also take inter-collegiate courses from the Department of Radio and Television in National Cheng-Chi University and the School of Dance in Taipei National University. There are also reserved quotas for our students to exchange to Shanghai Theatre Academy. To help students become qualified teachers, the department also takes part in the university’s Education Programs, and high school faculty preliminary training program in Performing Arts.

In order to provide students with facilities and sufficient space, the department utilized portions of the Fund for Excellence to overcome the inherent spatial limitations and set up specified classrooms and theatres. In 2007, 2011 and 2015, students of the Department participated in the preliminary competition of Prague Quadrennial and high portions of their work were elected for display in Prague.

Many of our alumni were accepted into prestigious universities abroad; they studied theatre and other related disciplinary, and graduated with honors. Our alumni have outstanding performances in a wide range of fields: academia, theatre, playwriting, film and television, publishing, etc.

10

Full-Time Faculty

13

Ph.D., Degree

3

Emeritus Professor

27

M.F.A. and M.A. Degree

28

Adjunct Faculty

1

Specialist

CAREER AND FURTHER STUDIES

Professional Abilities

Undergraduate Program

(1) Chinese Dramatic and Theatrical Theories
(2) Western Dramatic and Theatrical Theories
(3) Playwriting
(4) Theories and Practice of Performing and Directing & Performance Studies
(5) Practice of Theatre
(6) Theatre Design
(7) Theatre Technology and Management
(8) Art and Design
(9) Art Appreciation and Humanistic Attainment

Graduate Program – MA

(1) Chinese Dramatic and Theatrical Theories
(2) Western Dramatic and Theatrical Theories
(3) Playwriting
(4) Performance Studies
(5) Theatre Design
(6) Critical Thinking and Research Methodology

Graduate Program – PhD

(1) Theories of Drama and Theatre in Mainland China
(2) Theories of Drama and Theatre in Taiwan
(3) Theories of Western Drama and Theatre
(4) Theories of Directing and Acting
(5) Appreciation and Analysis of Theatrical Aesthetics
(6) Cross-Disciplinary Research and Innovation

Main Domain of Further Studies

Undergraduate Program

(1) Drama & Theatre Domain
(2) Mass Communication and Media Domain
(3) Design Domain

Graduate Program

(1) Drama & Theatre Domain
(2) Culture and Creative Industry Domain
(3) Screenwriting and Playwriting Domain

Career options

Undergraduate Program

(1) High School Teacher
(2) Theatre Technician
(3) Theatre Designer
(4) Theatrical Artist
(5) Creative Marketing
(6) Staff of Mass Communication and Media

Graduate Program – MA

(1) High School Teacher
(2) Higher Education Teacher
(3) Theatrical Artist
(4) Creative Marketing
(5) Staff of Mass Communication and Media

Graduate Program – PhD

(1) Academic in Theatre Studies
(2) Higher Education Faculty Member
(3) Artist in Theatre
(4) Cross-disciplinary Researcher
(5) Cross-disciplinary Designer and Operator
(6) Designer and Operator in Cultural and Creative Industries

FACILITY

The department is located in Building NO.1 on the main campus, occupying the first floor and the west half of the second floor. It has 31 rooms, including a department office, a chairman’s office, faculty offices, a seminar room, lecture halls, a classroom with professional automation equipment, classrooms for design technology, a scene shop, rehearsal classrooms, a costume shop and a computer lab. We also have projectors, a slide projector, an opaque project, a digital single lens reflex camera, a video camera, CDR-W, a digital equalizer, a P4 computer for graphics, a HP plotter (A1 Size), a time lapse camera, stationary power tools, hand power tools welding tools, a laser beam cutting machine, a vacuum forming machine, pneumatic tools, 3D digital body scanner, industrial sewing machines, an overlock sewing machine, blindstitch sewing machine dummies, acoustic equipment, multimedia facilities, computers and printers, all of which are accessible to faculty and students.

Currently, there are a total of 131,436 publications in English and Chinese, 510 types of journals and databases on drama and theatre in the University’s Main Library.

本系概況

簡介

下載本系簡介

本系研究所碩士班成立於1995年8月1日,課程設計兼顧東方與西方,目前分為理論與劇創兩組:理論組著重於歷史、文本、理論、美學等層面,以培養未來的戲劇研究者,以及中高等教育師資;創作組著重於劇本創作、人文扎根、美學素養等層面,以培養未來戲劇及相關領域之創作人才,以及中高等教育師資。碩士生可依興趣擇定方向,從事學術研究,取得文學碩士(Master of Arts)學位。

為了戲劇教育的一貫性及完整性,本校於1999年成立學士班,授予文學學士學位(Bachelor of Arts),每年平均招收學生35~40名(男女各半),為國家培育未來的戲劇研究者、編創人才、劇場暨藝術工作者、中等教育師資,以及文化產業之中堅人才。

基於教育部對本系教學績效與學術貢獻的肯定,本系於2014年8月1日成立博士班,授予文學博士學位(Doctor of Philosophy)。在發展方向上,博士班運用臺大作為綜合性研究型大學的優勢,力求戲劇研究的學術化,並進行跨領域研究,開發理論的運用面向,力求國際視野之提升。學士班課程則兼顧理論與實務、美學與技法、傳統與現代、東方與西方,希望在厚實的人文基礎上,提供全面、均衡的戲劇教育,讓每位學生得以於戲劇各個層面如歷史、理論、編創、表導演、設計、技術等,獲得充分的學習,並依學生個人興趣與才能,為他們提供進階專業課程。此外,本系鼓勵學生以選修、學程、輔系、雙主修等方式廣為利用臺大豐沛的學術資源。除本校簽訂的校際選課合作協議外,本系與國立政治大學廣播電視學系及國立臺北藝術大學舞蹈學院另簽有校際選課合作協議,並與上海戲劇學院簽有交換學生計畫備忘錄等,以廣拓學生視野。為貫通學生投入戲劇教育師資的管道,本系自93學年度起協助開設高級中等學校師資職前教育「藝術群──戲劇科」專門課程及國民中學九年一貫課程師資職前教育「藝術與人文學習領域──表演藝術科」專門課程。

在硬體設備方面,本系除了排除場地與空間的種種困難,提供學生適當的學習空間。近年來,更運用五年五百億的部分經費,在有限的空間下做最妥善的運用,分別設立專業教室,讓學生可以學以致用,從事創作,成效頗彰。2007年、2011年及2015年,本系學生參加 PQ’07、PQ’11 與PQ’15 布拉格四年展,分別以8件、7件與3件作品入選,代表台灣赴布拉格參展。本系畢業生前往國外著名學府深造者比例頗高,研究領域遍及戲劇及相關領域,表現優異,學有所成。

本系畢業生於職場表現傑出,不論是投入學術領域,在國內外大專院校任教,或從事劇場工作,或擔任專業劇本編創,或加入電視、電影製作公司,或任職藝文出版界,皆有嶄露頭角之勢。

11

專任教師

13

博士學位

2

名譽教授

26

藝術碩士及碩士學位

27

兼任教師

1

專家

就業與進修管道

可習得之專業能力

大學部

(1) 中國戲劇及劇場理論
(2) 西方戲劇及劇場理論
(3) 劇本編創
(4) 表導演實務及表演研究理論
(5) 劇場實務
(6) 劇場設計
(7) 劇場技術及管理
(8) 藝術設計
(9) 藝術鑑賞與人文素養

碩士班

(1) 中國戲劇及劇場理論
(2) 西方戲劇及劇場理論
(3) 劇本編創
(4) 表導演研究理論
(5) 劇場設計
(6) 獨立思辨及研究方法

博士班

(1) 中國戲劇及劇場理論
(2) 臺灣戲劇及劇場理論
(3) 西方戲劇及劇場理論
(4) 表導演研究理論
(5) 戲劇美學與鑑賞分析
(6) 跨領域研究開創
(7) 獨立思辨及研究方法

主要進修領域

大學部

(1) 戲劇領域
(2) 傳播與媒體領域
(3) 設計領域

碩士班

(1) 戲劇領域
(2) 文化創意產業領域
(3) 影視編劇領域

就業管道

大學部

(1) 中等學校教師
(2) 劇場技術人員
(3) 劇場設計師
(4) 劇場核心創作者
(5) 創意行銷產業
(6) 傳播與媒體從業人員

碩士班

(1) 中等學校教師
(2) 高等教育師資
(3) 劇場設計師
(4) 劇場核心創作者
(5) 創意行銷產業
(6) 傳播與媒體從業人員

博士班

(1) 戲劇領域-戲劇研究學者
(2) 戲劇領域-高等教育師資
(3) 戲劇領域-劇場核心創作者
(4) 戲劇相關領域-戲劇跨領域研究者
(5) 戲劇相關領域-戲劇跨領域設計與執行者
(6) 戲劇相關領域-文化創意產業設計與執行者

空間設備

本系現在空間為一號館一樓及二樓西側教室共31間【包括系辦公室、主任室、教師研究室、 專題教室、階梯教室、自動化專業設備設計教室、設計教室、佈景工廠、排練教室、服裝工廠 、電腦教室等等】,實驗劇場1間及臺大劇場1間。另有單槍投影機(含投影幕)、投影片投影 機、幻燈機、實物投影機、數位單眼相機、攝影機、數位化視訊轉換機、數位等化器、P4繪圖 用電腦、HP出圖機 (A1 Size)、縮時攝影機、大型電動機台、電動手工工具、電焊工具、雷射 雕刻機、真空成型機、氣動工具、3D數位量身儀、車縫機、平拷機、盲縫機、人型台、音響設 備、多媒體設備、電腦及印表機等週邊設備,供師生教學研究之用。

藏書

目前收藏於總圖書館之戲劇 類中、西文藏書總冊114,542冊,期刊(含資料庫)523種。